Pluto Mission Comets Kuiper Belt Solar System Asteroids
Sun Saturn Jupiter Galaxies Furthest Planets

bk (28K)

Our solar system consists of the Sun, the 9 planets that orbit the sun, their 78 identified moons, asteroids, comets, gas and dust clouds. The sun is the center of our solar system and all the planets, moons, asteroids, and, comets rotate around the sun.



The planets are divided into:

í Terrestrial or Inner Planets

í Jovian or Outer Planets

í Outermost Planet

Terrestrial or Inner Planets: These comprise of the 4 rocky planets, viz., (1) Mercury (2) Venus (3) Earth, and, (4) Mars.

Jovian or Outer Planets: These comprise of the 4 gaseous planets, viz., (1) Jupiter (2) Saturn (3) Uranus (4) Neptune.

Outermost Planet: This is a very small, solid ice body; whish is believed to be smaller than our own moon.

bk (28K)


There are seven jumbo satellites, big enough to be termed as planets are orbiting the sun. They are (1) The Moon (2) IO (3) Europa (4) Ganymede (5) Callisto (6) Titan, and, (7) Triton.


These are lumps of solidified rocks, irregular in shape. They are mostly found in the “asteroid belt” between the orbits of Jupiter and Moon. The “asteroid belt” comprises of tens of hundreds of these boulders of rocks traveling around the sun.

bk (28K)


These are icy bodies generally located well outside the planet Pluto’s orbit in the Oort cloud. They travel past the sun periodically and give off dust and gas every time they pass.

All terrestrial, or Inner Planets have two parts: An inner, dense core of iron and an outer not so dense mantle, consisting mainly of Silicate matter.

Mercury: Very high density of a large iron core. Practically no mantle.

Moon: It has a very small iron core, and therefore, the density is very low. It is believed to have been formed out of Earth when a big planetesimal collided with it, stripping in its wake quite some mantle material from the Earth, which merged to form the moon.

pluto home page